Embassy of Japan-India

An embassy is the main base or center for a country's mission in abroad countries for all of the political, cultural and social relationships between the country. In a country there will only be one embassy for one nation in another abroad country. The country's ambassador works in the chancery. The primary purpose of an embassy in country is to assist their citizens who travel to or live in the host country. They also responsible and deal directly with the citizens in the host country and their

The main purpose of embassy is to exchange culture, government policies and all kind of relationships between two countries. The Embassy of Japan is located at New Delhi, India. But there are many other consulates in other regions of India. The Japanese embassy in India is one of the 515 foreign representative in India and one of 185 foreign representations in New Delhi.

The difference between embassy and consulate are embassy is that embassy is headed by ambassador of a country and consulate by consulate general of a country. The political and government relations are carried out by embassy of japan through ambassador whereas consulate is located in major tourist center for tourists and visa purposes.

H. E. Mr. Satoshi Suzuki                                 
Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary

The embassy of japan in India organizes many events to promote the country’s own pride culture in many ways. It connects people by many social gatherings and japan habba to share indo-japan relationship. It also promotes tourism and work environment in japan through facebook and other media.

List of consulate in India:

Embassy of Japan: New Delhi


·         Bangalore

·         Chennai

·         Kolkata

·         Mumbai

Embassy New Delhi jurisdiction :

Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chandigarh, Delhi, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tripura, Uttaranchal, Uttar Pradesh


Consulate of Bengaluru jurisdiction: Karnataka

Consulate of Chennai jurisdiction: Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Kerala and Pondicherry.

Consulate of Kolkata jurisdiction: West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand and Odisha.

Consulate of Mumbai jurisdiction: Maharashtra, Goa, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Daman, Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

Indian embassy in Japan: Tokyo

Consulate in Japan: Osaka

Embassy opening time: Weekdays between 09:00 and 13:00 / 14:00 and 17:30. Closed on Indian and Japanese national holidays.